IHFRA recognizes leaders at annual awards gala in High Point

HIGH POINT — More than 600 industry notables flocked to High Point University’s Qubein Conference Center here on Oct. 13 to participate in the 27th annual Furniture Industry Awards Gala hosted by the International Home Furnishings Representatives Association.

Joyce Miskelly and Oscar Miskelly, Miskelly Furniture (and IHFRA Retailer of the Year), Jackson, Mississippi

The annual IHFRA event, which recognizes the best and brightest members of the home furnishings sector, honors independent sales reps, key retailers and manufacturers. The gala, which honors both industry veterans as well as relative newcomers to the industry that are making a difference, recently moved its venue to the conference center at High Point University, saving honorees and attendees having to travel to and from Greensboro, North Carolina, during the busy days of furniture market.

This year’s honorees were Miskelly Furniture as Retailer of the Year; Planned Furniture Promotion’s Roy Hester, named IHFRA’s Icon; Edward Massood of Massood Logistics as Pillar of the Industry; John F. Pinion IV, Pinion’s Wonderworld, the Distinguished Service Award; and Ted Jarnagin of T&S Sales as IHFRA’s Legacy Rep.

Also seen at the IHFRA gala were Al Bolton, left, High Point Exhibitions; Michael Amini and Kian Amini (AICO and IHFRA Rising Star honoree); and Kevin Castellani, Mah Wah USA.

Normally, IHFRA recognizes one relatively new sales rep as a Rising Star, but this year’s candidates were so strong and compelling that the Association honored four equally talented young candidates: Kian Amini of AICO, Sydney Harris of Furnitureland South, Katie Kornold of Korngold Sales & Marketing and Cameron Wanek, Ashley Furniture Industries LLC.

In speaking of the four Rising Stars, IHFRA Executive Director Ray Allegrezza said, “While they may be relatively new to the industry, their achievements and efforts have already matched those of some veterans of the industry.”

This year’s theme, “Celebrating the family of furniture,” was underscored by the fact that every honoree is part of a family with deep roots in the home furnishings sector, Allegrezza told the audience during his opening remarks. In keeping with the theme of family, IHFRA served a traditional Thanksgiving dinner with all the trimmings.

The International Home Furnishings Representatives Association held its Furniture Industry Awards Gala on Friday, Oct. 13. Seen at the event were Roy Hester, left, Planned Furniture Promotions (and IHFRA Icon Award honoree), Chelsea Hester, Peggy Hester and Jeff Brummett, Coast to Coast Accents and J Furniture.

The gala also served as a platform to announce upcoming changes to the executive team at IHFRA. During the program it was announced that Steven Allegrezza, currently serving as IHFRA’s managing director, will take the helm as executive director on Jan. 1, 2024. Ray Allegrezza will remain with the group and will focus on creating content and helping with IHFRA events, including FIAG.

The event, which enjoyed record attendance this year, was largely made possible by the generous support of the following sponsors: Diamond Level Sponsors Ashley Furniture Industries, J.B. Hunt, AICO (Amini Innovation Corp) and Renaissance.

Platinum Sponsors were Tempur + Sealy, Massood Logistics, High Point Exhibitions, and retail sponsors Johnny Janosik and Broad River Retail.

Ted Jarnagin, left, IHFRA Legacy Rep honoree; Ray Allegrezza, IHFRA and Home News Now; and Benjamin Jarnagin.

Gold sponsors were Andmore and Planned Furniture Promotions.

Silver sponsors were Furniture Today, City of Hope, Samson Holding, HomeStretch and Nourison.

Bronze sponsors were Best Home Furnishings, Jackson Furniture, Hooker Furnishings, Furnitureland South, Huntington House, DOVR, Lexington, Wells Fargo/FMG, Gulfstream Shippers Association, Miskelly Furniture, Southern Motion and ZWovens.

For more information about this year’s gala or IHFRA, visit the website at www.ihfra.org.

And for more images from the event, courtesy of IHFRA, scroll down.

Some 600 industry notables came to celebrate this year’s honorees at the International Home Furnishings Representatives Association’s annual FIAG gala. The sold-out event was held at High Point University’s Conference Center on October 13, 2023.

AICO’s Kian Amini was one of four Rising Stars honored at the gala.

Sydney Harris of HNN 125 retailer Furnitureland South, received IHFRA’s Rising Star Award.

Ashley’s Cameron Wanek accepts IHFRA’s Rising Star Award from his father, Todd Wanek, president and chief executive officer of Ashley Furniture.

IHFRA’s Steve Allegrezza (left), presents Katie Korngold of Korngold Marketing, with a Rising Star Award.

Ben Jarnigin presents IHFRA’s Legacy Rep Award to his father, Ted Jarnigin.

Steve Allegrezza, (left) Bonnie Wallace and Ray Allegrezza, all with IHFRA, present John Pinion IV with IHFRA’s Distinguished Service Award.

Ed Massood (left) is presented with IHFRA’s Pillar of the Industry Award from his daughter, Tara Massood.

Tom Liddell of Planned Furniture Promotions, (left) presents PFP’s Roy Hester with IHFRA’s ICON Award.

E. A. Howell presents her father, Oscar Miskelly, with IHFRA’s Retailer of the Year Award.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Subscribe to our Newsletter for breaking news, special features and early access to all the industry stories that matter!

Sponsored By: