Furniture Hall of Fame elects new officers, first female president

HIGH POINT, N.C. — The American Home Furnishings Hall of Fame Foundation has elected new officers and board members for 2021, including the board’s first female president.

Caroline Hipple
Caroline Hipple

The sales of officers are: Caroline Hipple, president, Norwalk Furniture, board president; Scott Eckman, executive vice president and chief revenue officer of International Market Centers, first vice president; Tyson Hagale, president-furniture hardware division, Leggett & Platt, second vice president; and, David Gebhart, CEO, Global Views, secretary-treasurer. 

Martin Ploy, president, AICO/Amini Innovation Corp, will continue to serve on the executive committee as board chairman.

New directors are Michael Faus, senior vice president of Carpenter Company; Jeremy Hoff, CEO of Hooker Furniture; and Steve Rusing, President of U.S. Sales, Tempur Sealy International.

“The vision for the Hall of Fame building is really threefold: First, to create a home for our $150 billion industry where we can gather for activities and create engagement; second, to be a symbol for leadership, innovation and excellence, just as our inductees are; and, third, to be a place where our story is told to us and to the whole world,” Hipple said in a release.

“It’s going to be a living space to celebrate our industry. It will be engaging and interactive.  Through this engagement, it will become a hub of discovery for our industry and a celebration of our industry.”

Re-elected members serving an additional three-year term are Andy Bernstein, founder & CEO, FurnitureDealer.Net; Irv Blumkin, CEO, Nebraska Furniture Mart; and Janet Guy, president, Prestige Arts & Art Trends.

Clint Engel

Clint Engel is a veteran home furnishings industry journalist and executive editor of Home News Now. Please share your feedback with him at

View all posts by Clint Engel →

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Subscribe to our Newsletter for breaking news, special features and early access to all the industry stories that matter!

Sponsored By: